Cavallo Hoof boots: sport, simple or trek?

Mel1

Visit site
what is the difference between the sport, simple or trek cavallo boots, apart from their look?
for hacking, is there one better than the other?

I have never used them before, and I think my horse is just between 2 sizes (but she has just been trimmed) am I better to go to the smaller size or the bigger size?

as my horse has really sensitive skin and easily rub, I am considering getting the pastern wrap as well so does that affect the size that I should choose?

Emby

Visit site
Hi, I don't know about the trek ones, but the simple boots are for a rounder foot and the sport boots fit a foot that is longer.
I use the Simple boots for my section D mare and to start with I mistakenly bought the trek ones but they didn't fit at all.
As far as being between sizes is concerned I would go for the larger ones and use the pastern wraps.

SatsumaGirl

Visit site
From what I gather, it is purely down to materials and fastenings (though the Trek is sold in singles, rather than pairs).

The regular style will fit hooves that are round. i.e. as long as they are wide and the slim will fit hooves that are longer than they are wide. I think the Simple only comes in the regular style.

The Sport seems to have an easy to fasten closure and being made of material, rather than leather, probably means they are easier to clean.

Personally, having bought the Simple for two of mine, whilst they fit well and I've had no trouble with them from a staying on POV, the
straps are so fiddly to tuck into the plastic keepers, the ends have frayed making it even more difficult and the leather covering is starting to wear away, leaving the straps slightly weaker.

I really like the look of the Treks and when the time comes, I'll be replacing my Simples with them. They look to be more durable and easier to fasten than the Simple.

Basically, avoid the Simple! You'll spend about 20 minutes trying to tuck the straps into the keepers.