Competition practice without own horse? is it possible?

daydreamer

Visit site
Hi I wondered if anyone had any ideas/experiences of doing competitions without their own horse. I have had lessons for years and years and am very good at doing what I am told and riding quite well, sadly I am not very good at thinking for myself. I took my stage 3 exam last summer and passed the flat but failed the jumping. In training I was jumping 2'9"-3' courses ok but my instructor says (quite rightly!) I need to get used to riding under pressure when I can't wait until everything is "right" and and when no-one is telling me what to do. I can't seem to think of a good way to get more competition practice though.

I could so some local (about 50 min drive either way!) riding school competitions but the standard isn't great and they are fairly low key. I might do some of these though.
I could hire one of my instructors horses and do some local competitions but that would be really quite expensive (about £60-70 for 2 class i think depending on entry fees).
I currently share a horse and will try and do some of the yard dressage competitions on him if his owner lets me but he is a bit of a nutter to jump so I don't really want to jump him in a competition.
Do you think there are people out there that do riding club type competitions that would let people like me ride their horse in return for help/a bit of money or do you think that is too much to ask for? I am a sympathetic, quiet and well-balanced rider but how would I get owners to know this/trust me and would it be terrible if I was a bit ineffective/passive in a competition setting?

Any other ideas? I'm trying not to put obstacles in my way but it is quite hard when i don't really like competing! :eek:

spookypony

Visit site