Demoralising issue with canter

shadowboy

Visit site
Pre 2008 I rode to a reasonable standard BE90 and BD novice. I had no 'issues' with my body and I was a reasonably balanced rider. In February 2008 my event mate bronked me off and I landed ballerina toe'd and suffered a lis franc fracture (3 metatarsals and all the ligaments went in my left foot) this has been pinned and stabilised and I have been walking since 2009 and riding since 2010/2011. Initially I had a NF who I backed and would show and compete at dressage but only unaffiliated as I couldn't quite snap the canter transitions up for BD novice. I thought this issue was related to him. I sold him last summer and bought an unbacked 3yo TBx Welsh D to event. I have really struggled with canter transitions. In the left rein I can get correct lead after a 'dirty' transition but on the right rein we are a mess. In 4 attempts I couldn't get correct lead and twice didn't get canter at all- just a horrible rushed trot. Worried it was because of his age (he's now 4 and a bit) I didn't push him but last week sent him off for schooling while I went on holiday. Wow he is amazing- his canter looked glorious and transitions were good. But when I got on he reverted back to the rubbishness we had before. I don't know what is going on with my left leg?!! It feels like I'm putting my leg in and back but apparently it just comes up and destabilises my seat. How the hell do I fix this before I ruin this horse?! Every single time I try it swings up but I can't feel it do that how do I fix something when I can't feel it happen :(?

Pearlsasinger

Up in the clouds
Visit site
Look for a physio who will do sessions on horseback, or on a mechanical horse. I have had a few sessions recently and they have made a lot of difference to my riding, post broken leg and broken foot. It has also helped with injuries left over form years ago. I am in Yorks and know of 2 within travelling distance.

shadowboy

Visit site