Dentist and back man

lapetitebruyere

Visit site
Being a complete newbie to the area, can anyone recommend a horsey dentist and back man for the Edinburgh area?

Going to put my boy through his MOT soon, so will be looking to have him all checked out.

Thanks.

holeymoley

Visit site
Really like Brian Smith and ive always used him, but couldn't find his contact info last year? Ended up having to get a vet out which was extortionate:rolleyes:

EventingMum

Visit site
Have sent you a pm.

Re a back person, there are some I would definitely avoid, it also depends on what sort of back person you want - I use a chiropractor and a physio and have been happy with them, I have heard some good reports on a osteopath but have no personal experience of them. Up here there a number of unqualified edts and back people about and whilst some people happily use them that doesn't sit well with me personally and having heard a couple of horror stories I always wonder what the consequences would be if things go wrong ie if you subsequently tried to claim on your insurance.

lapetitebruyere

Visit site
Thanks guys... now I have a few names for dentists, so I will hopefully be able to get one of them out soon...

Still open to suggestions for a "back man".... Anyone have any experiences of Ben Holohan?

TPO

Visit site
I'm reluctant to ever recommend anyone as I've used so many people who then go on to disappoint.

However I have no hesitation in recommending James Spy as and EDT. He has a degree in equine dentistry and is BEVA/BAEDT qualified and registered. I'd thoroughly check out the credentials of everyone before using them ;)

James always does a fantastic job and has a way with horses. My horse is normally a saint but he's terrified getting his teeth done. James has always taken his time and worked with Doobie. Last time he was out Doobs stood like a rock and this is all down to James's handling of the previous situations.

I really can't recommend him highly enough.