DIY Clipping

vicm2509

Visit site
I just wondered how easy/hard it is to clip your own horse? One of the girls on our yard does most of the horses but charges about £20 per horse, so I was thinking in the long run it will work out cheaper to get my own clippers and do it myself. I want a full clip so the only fiddly bits will be the top of the legs and the face. I have never done it before though and wondered if anyone has any tips or knows of any good websites that have a step by step guide of how to do it? I thought if I had a go at doing the first clip now at least it will quickly grow out if it goes wrong as he is only just starting to get his winter coat through.

eekmon

Visit site
Its not that hard, especially to do a hunter clip!
smile.gif
Best advice I would give is to have someone who can clip show you how to do it! Reading about it is one thing but putting it into practise is another
tongue.gif
Good luck
smile.gif

AmyMay

Situation normal
Visit site
I bought my own clippers - and that was one of the reasons (costs of others doing it etc.)

Practice definately makes perfect - and I'm not bad now. Poor Amymay the first winter had very odd leg markings though
blush.gif
blush.gif

Rambo

Visit site
I did mine for the first time last week...it wasn't difficult at all ! Just make sure you have some smaller clippers for the fiddly bits around the head and ears
smile.gif

vicm2509

Visit site
May sound like a silly question but for 1 horse can I just get some light duty clippers? Or do I need to spend £150 on a set?

I was looking at something like these

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-LIVERYMAN-STEP...1QQcmdZViewItem

My friend thinks her dog clipper could do the job easily, could she be right or was she just being a little optamistic? I dont want them to blow up half way through!

Rambo

Visit site
Hmmmm...I'm not the person to ask i'm afraid, as I borrowed my YO's clippers....which cost a LOT more than £150
shocked.gif
I think they were Lister Neon's from memory