Do they really want to BUY the horse?

Dry Rot

Visit site
Well, we've had the "Do they really want to sell the horse?", so I thought I'd turn the tables and have a grumble from the seller's point of view!

Do some buyers imagine we are selling because we need the money and will sell regardless of the type of home on offer? Do they think we don't care about our livestock? Or that we will gladly take money from those who deceive themselves about their own capabilties? Would we sell to those who couldn't sit a lead rein pony, let alone the recently backed 3yo we have for sale!?

I've just realised that I have been breeding and selling pedigree livestock for over forty years and I think I've seen them all! First, pedigree working gundogs (sold to over 30 countries world-wide), then pedigree sheep (sold all over the north of the UK including most of the Scottish islands), and now Highland ponies. Obviously, I have occasionaly bought too.

First, like the majority of owners, I DO care about my livestock even though I am selling and I'd rather sell cheap than sell to a bad home for more money. A seller usually has very little to go on to assure him or herself that the buyer will provide that good home or has the necessary experience to manage what they want to buy. Obviously, we can learn a lot from body language and how the buyer reacts to an animal. Horsey people read really well. Experienced people are confident and don't react as if the horse will kill them, but exercise due caution in dealing with a large unpredictable animal they don't know. Just chatting on the phone will usually produce a lot of information.