does anyone compete in obedience?

ladyearl

vvv
Just that really. I'm dipping my toe in the waters and wondering what I might aim to do with Tess. I would like her to try agility as I think she'd like that but this year I am concentrating on her obedience work and was thinking maybe once we had sorted out her walking on the lead (she pulls like a train) we might try obedience competitions. So if anyone does ... what advice would you give a complete newbie.

We do go a club and practise lots and as a result we have been moved to the top (of three) beginners groups. I reached advanced group with my last dog but she was a bit too sensitive for shows etc. so we didn't really do any competitions.

CorvusCorax

Justified & Ancient
Visit site
I do it as a phase of an overall discipline so not sure if this advice is any good or not but we do look for the same focus/attention and 'joy' in work.

I think what I have found is keep everything very short and snappy, broken up into sections, nothing bores a dog like endless long repetitions, keep everything positive, if you are feeling in a crappy mood or tired or can't be bothered, don't train, put the dog away or go throw a ball instead, always end on a high.

I also keep certain very high value objects just for obedience training, never for free play, they only come out for obedience so it keeps the dog much more attentive.

Also try and keep the body language neutral, I am terrible for giving signals with my hands or body when I do not intend to.

stargirl88

Visit site
I second what cave canem has said although just a thought, have a look at rally-o too! Its more of a casual obedience test but there are still levels etc and it could be a fun starting point too :)

TurtleToo

Visit site
I kind of fell into obedience as many shows are joined agility and obedience, but have since discovered that one of my BCs prefers it to agility, she likes to be told exactly what to do and doesn't like thinking for herself :rolleyes: .