Does anyone have a horse/pony that has been diagnosed with Equine Metabolic Syndrome?

Pancakes

Visit site
Hi everyone,
I am a final year degree student at Warwickshire College (and long-time lurker on the forum, I prefer to read than post :)). As part of my degree I have to complete an undergraduate dissertation on:
'A survey of body condition scores within the UK horse population and its relationship to Equine Metabolic Syndrome (EMS)'
In order to collect representative data I need to condition score horses that have been diagnosed with EMS, this will form the foundation of my dissertation. I would be very grateful if anyone out there would be willing to let me come and condition score their horse that has EMS.
ETA: I realise I am a complete stranger to some of you so would understand if you would prefer not to take part :)
Thank you for taking your time to read this, hot chocolate and marshmallows for all, on this very wintery Friday!:eek:
(please feel free to PM me for more info)
Jenna

Last edited:

Pancakes

Visit site
please feel free to PM me if you have an EMS horse/pony and wouldnt mind getting involved in other ways :)

oh and hot chocoate and mashmallows for windy THURSDAY!!...........wishful thinking it was friday:rolleyes:

itsonlyme

Visit site
I have a cushings / IR mare who the vet has never officially diagnosed as having EMS, nor put on metaformin; but she is managed as though she has EMS. If that's any use, let me know. Im in cheshire. Got all her bloodwork too if u need that :)

Fourponies

Visit site
Hi my pony was diagnosed with EMS at the end of November. She is currently on metformin and finishes her course next week. I am more than happy to assist you. I'm in the Midlands.

kirstys 1

Visit site
Have an EMS pony - I am in Kent if that is any use to you?

(Just realised you're in Warwickshire - might be too far, but if it's not - feel free!)

Last edited:

laura7981

Visit site