Does this horse look thin?

SueAllen

Visit site
Or just a bit lean? I have had conflicting opinons and I am not experienced enough to really tell. No ribs visible but in the second picture (taken in May last year) he looks a lot bigger, especially his quarters.

Decemberevening027-1.jpg

Meandmyboy.jpg

Included this one cos he just looks mad!!
Decemberevening018headonly.jpg

S_N

Visit site
Thin yes - skinny and a problem no!

I wouldn't want him to get any lighter though. This is your horse I take it?

vivhewe

Visit site
I'd like to see a bit more on his withers and his rump to be rounder, bit he isn't too thin yet. Personally I wouldn't want him any thinner though. Love the pictue of him with his tongue out
smile.gif

SueAllen

Visit site
Thanks for your replies. Having looked at the comparison between the two pics I have been trying to get some more cover on his quarters and neck but I guess it's an uphill struggle at this time of year. He has been hunting twice a week for most of the season but has had a week or so off with a sore on his back. Now that seems better he has just gone lame so some more time off! In the meantime he is getting boiled barley, calm and condition, sugar beet and Alfa A - 3 feeds a day. Plus ad lib hay and a decent amount of haylage. Teeth done in August, wormed in November so can't really think what else to do. By the time I do get on him again he will probably be as mental as he looks in the bottom pic but hopefully will have put some weight on. Any other advice would be well and truly welcome.

S_N

Visit site
Ahhhh well you didn't say that he was hunting fit!! That sheds a WHOLE different light on it!! He looks FAB and FIT!!

ETS - often people are not used to fit horses, so will automatically think of them as thin/skinny, when they are in fact FIT!!

SueAllen

Visit site