Dressage help

Kelly1982

Visit site
Ok guys, i'm sure you lovely peeps will be able to help me, i am thinking of giving dressage a bash. This is something i have NEVER done or even considered before but my new mare was bred for dressage and i keep getting such lovely comments about her paces that i thought i might give it a go.

I know NOTHING about dressage as all i have ever know is SJ so can someone please give me some info.

I dont want to do nothing fancy just a simple walk, trot and canter test. she is also only 4yo if that makes a difference in any classes??

I know nothing about the tests or scoring so as much info as poss would be great, i serioulsy am a complete dressage virgin
crazy.gif

Thanks

Fiona

Visit site
Why don't you look around for a local unaffiliated dressage comp, get the appropriate test, and see what transitions/movements are needed. Then practice yourself at home before the comp, or have a couple of lessons with a dressage orientated trainer. Then give it a go. Best of luck.

Fiona

Sal_E

Visit site
Kelly, give it a go!!! I think the absolute best thing you can do is go along & watch some competitions - only watch prelim for now as that's where you'll want to start. Not sure if it's best to watch aff or unaff - may be worth starting at unaff in case aff scares you off a bit... You could also offer to write for a judge for the day, so you get to see it from the 'inside'...

Rambo

Visit site
Oh dear god....Kelly ! What's going on lol!

Enter at 'A' ( also known as the collecting ring !). Jump fences in numerical order...1 to 9 (or more)...keeping a nice collected but productive canter. Exit at 'A' ( as described above)....

Don't do it
shocked.gif
blush.gif
grin.gif
lol!

Judie

Visit site