electric fencing

DBrasnett

www.brasnett-pratt.co.uk
I am new to electric fencing.

I am about to move my mare and put her in a large field, but sectioned of with electric fencing. Any advice for first time electric fence users and horses who haven't experienced electric fencing before?

perfectpolly

Visit site
my advice is from several years ago so may be outdated now.
just to check the fence regularly, and buy one of those thingymagigs, whatdoyoucallits, that tests the charge in the tape. you just touch it to the wire and it shows the charge in it, so thus if it is working.
i used to check mine was working by touching it as i was a poor student! after several painfull shocks by working tapes, my dad bought me a tester....without being asked once....just my hair standing on end worked a treat. quite a bit older now and wiser......
electric fencing is fab, but you have to maintain and keep checking it regularly. if there is a break in the wires in the tape the rest will stop working and if you have a cheeky smart horse, they will work this out!
have some tape joiner links ready in case of damaged wires...you just cut the damaged part out, then use the joiner to connect the two working parts. keep a few spare parts handy.
again, this was several years ago..... a distant memory. but i always remember my first damaged tape and thinking why wasn't i prepared for this........ as my cob charged through neighbouring fields!
re the horse, once shes had a shock that'll be enough to put her off for a while!

QUICKFIRE

Visit site
If you dont have a thingymagig, whatdoyacallit lol, if you get a blade of grass and hold it to the wire, you can feel a small trickle of the charge instead of the full charge,

Toby_Zaphod

Visit site
Ensure that you have an earthing rod of at least 1 mtr long sunk into the ground.
Don't join electric tape or rope by knoting it, always use a proper joining clip to ensure a good connection.