Essential viewing!

Bossdog

Visit site
I'm going to reserve judgement because I have very little knowledge of breeding and the Kennel Club, I don't really see how they solve the problem of irresponsible breeding without making these changes compulsory? And what about the BYB who don't use the Kennel Club?

On the upside, I have a lot of respect for the Bulldog breeder who has made real changes to his dogs and I hope he is rewarded for going against the fashionable bulldog look and OMG, how amazing were his puppies.... eeeeee, so squidgy!!!!!

galaxy

Visit site
Very good and interesting....

the "my cross/designer breed is healthier than your pure bred dog" club need to view it! Also people who think that papers for a dog are unnecessary may see why they are invaluable!!!

MurphysMinder

Visit site
Haven't watched it yet but have got the gyst of it from the dog press. I am not a huge fan of the KC but I do think they are on the right track here. I would like to see the recommended tests for Assured Breeders to become required, and more to the point, a bench mark to be set for what is satisfactory under these tests, e.g. not just ask for stock to be hip scored but set a maximum score.
As Bossdog says, this won't stop the BYB and puppy farmers who do not have KC reg dogs, but it is a start. Imo the way forward is to somehow educate the puppy buying public to research what health tests are needed for the breed they are interested in, and then to make sure they buy a pup from parents who have had good results in these tests, but not sure if that ever can be achieved.:(

galaxy

Visit site