Ex race horse that won't canter!!

whisper09

Visit site
I need some ideas and advice for my Tb. He has uneven muscles on his withers and struggles to get the left canter lead. I am going to get his back checked and have only lunged him since instead of schooling. He gets really cranky and frustrated even on the lunge. I am trying to get his muscles built up and have concentrated on the trot on the lunge but at some point i've got to try the canter again! Any advice on how to make it easier for him. We have just hacked him since and he isnt cranky when out hacking. I dont know if he is just objecting to schooling because he finds it difficult but i am going to get his back checked and saddle fitted before we start schooling him again.

Also can anyone recommend a dressage trainer for the future close to me (mansfield, Notts) that would either come to my yard to school or would take him in for a while. I have many years experience but due to health problems i am unable to do it myself now and my 13 year old daugher who normally rides him although she is quite a competant rider is not experienced enough to school him through this problem. Im not a millionaire
crazy.gif
so cant afford a top notch trainer!? Any recommendations would be gratefully received.

He's a kind cheeky loving horse who is laid back even to the point of not wanting to canter in an open field with my daugher (he just doesnt see the point in all that energy!)

Any advice or similar experiences will be gratefully received
grin.gif

Grey_Eventer

Visit site
hi, re his canter, he is most likely like this because he has been galloped mainly on the right, this is what is often the case with ex racers. it just takes time to build up strength on that rein as they aree much stronger on the over rein. practice lots!

Festive_Felicitations

Visit site