Ex-racehorse owners - questions & show me yours!

ArcticFox

www.bryland.co.uk
Hi All :)

I am considering buying an ex-racehorse to bring on and introduce to the world of eventing/showing/side saddle - basically whatever he/she will turn their hoof to - and was wondering if you could give me some info about all of your ex-racers.

I have never done it before although i am very excited about it. :D

What age did you buy yours? how often had they raced? does he/she have any vices that you knew about when you bought him/her? did you buy direct from the trainer/breeder? What would you do differently if you did it again? what questions should you ask?

Basically piccies and some history on your horse would be lovely!

marley and danni

Visit site
hi!!

very happy for you :):)

i would recommend anyone to get an exrace horse they are so loyal and sweet and very willing to learn!

i got mine on 23rd jan 2011 he was 5 he is now 7 (bday is march)

hes 15'3 bay gelding called Gelert

he does weave when stressed or wanting his food but iv mastered how to minimise it (although i didnt know about this when i bought him)

he came with tack rugs and feed for £800.00

he had been lightly schooled but mostly hacked since out of racing.

i have spent a year training him to hold him self properly and work from his back end properly which he is now starting to do lovley. he has the best jump iv seen will jump anything very bold and is deffinatly not scared of anything he is stabled next to the guard dog and hacks out and doesnt bat an eye lid when other horses spook at carrier bags or go off galloping he will happy stay behind.

hes got a brilliant temp he doesnt bite kick or nasty at all.... he did use to rear when hacking but i realised i was very retricting with my reins so all good now... hacks out in company and on his own...better on his own.

he last raced is 2009 i think and did 23 recorded races came 2nd twice but overall wasnt to bad. he can certainly shift now!