Experience of 'anti-anxiety' aids

hurricane124

Visit site
Hi
Unfortunately our rescue staffy was attacked by another dog on Sunday. She's suspected to be an ex bait dog so has always been fear reactive (just growly) with dogs who get in her space. She's made great progress with this in the past year. It wasn't a horrific attack but she did spend the day at the emergency vets getting sedated and sewn back up.
Understandably she's been a bag of nerves since sunday.
Following advice she now has an adaptil collar and has nutracalm tablets to start taking tomorrow. Just wondered if anyone had experience with either of these and if they were effective?
We're waiting to see her trainer again to see how to proceed from here.

Pearlsasinger

Up in the clouds
Visit site
Poor girl!

Sorry I have no experience of anxiety aids but do know a staffy with very fixed views who doesn't like to change her mind, no matter how her owners try to change her mind, so you have all my sympathy with this.

hurricane124

Visit site
Poor girl!

Sorry I have no experience of anxiety aids but do know a staffy with very fixed views who doesn't like to change her mind, no matter how her owners try to change her mind, so you have all my sympathy with this.
We had finally managed to semi convince her that random dogs weren't just going to attack her - guess life has proved us wrong!

{97702}

Visit site
oh no that's awful, how did she manage to get attacked? Poor girl, she must have been petrified :( :(

I've heard good things about adaptil collars but in different circumstances, I do hope they work for her :)

Aru

Visit site
I use adaptil spray on a bandana all the time. Helps a lot of dogs with mild anxiety... But isn't enough in severe cases.