Finding a suitable pony for a child

MyBoyChe

Visit site
Can anyone point me in the right direction? Im not in any riding clubs so out of the loop and would be way down the waiting list for the sort of ponies that go by word of mouth. Tentatively starting to look for a pony suitable for a complete beginner but a first ridden rather than lead rein as hoping to keep it for a while and am well aware its easier to find a lead reiner than a first ridden. Im in Bucks so would rather not have to drive too far but again, for the right pony. If anyone can recommend any places to look that would be fab

maya2008

Visit site
What sort of size? When we were looking we found they went like hot cakes: ad went up, five minutes later queue of 10+ people waiting to view, a day later = sold! Our pony is great on the lead, a first ridden if she likes you, a second/third ridden otherwise! She has taught my son to ride really really well though.

After how hard it was to find her (and she is no saint, has her moments for sure when the kids don’t listen and she decides to teach them a lesson!) we decided to buy our next step up as a youngster from a decent stud and I am ‘making’ her myself. No cheaper in the long run, but easier. We were so lucky to get the little pony we did, no guarantee we would be that lucky again!

Bonnie Allie

Visit site
We have been through this from both sides. We found our unicorns and when it came time to find new families we had our pick to choose from.

Bit of advice on when you are buying - don’t be a tool! Just because you “asked first” or called up first it does not give you first right of refusal. Don’t be pushy. We will sell to the best family not the first one with money.

Make sure your little angel has a few manners and doesn’t look like a petulant little turd when you turn up to view the pony. Not going to sell to a kid that looks like it will crack it at the pony if it doesn’t go her way all the time.