first hunt

chilledoutpony

Visit site
Ive been riding for 8 years and not hunted. I have 4 ponies, most unsuitable apart from my smallest.

What happens throughout hunting? I know the main bits can someone explain the whole thing?

Would my 12hh fit in? My friend took her 13hh pony. I'm not interested in it if its just big horses jumping five bar gates as my litten has had his first few jumps recently. Obviously I will jump him more before hunting.
My smallest however is also my youngest and least experienced.

Thanks

PorkChop

Visit site
My best advice would be to go and follow on foot with your local hunt first. There will be all shapes and sizes of horses and ponies out, and not everyone wants to jump.

It depends on your area as to the type of land you will be crossing, some hunts don't jump at all.

The best thing to do is to phone the secretary who will be able to answer your questions and maybe suggest someone who can keep you company until you get going.

I would recommend going out as many times as you can, so that your pony settles and make sure you keep to the back and out of others way until you know how he will behave.

If you do a search on the hunting forum there is loads of advice for first timers to hunting.

L&M

Visit site
It really depends on the pack you hunt with - you would be fine with one like mine which is a small farmers pack, and has a real mix of riders and horses! We never jump gates, maybe the very occasional hedge, but more likely smallish rails.

Also there are usually ways round jumps, with others that don't jump either, so don't worry about this element. The country each pack follows also dictates the type of hunting - our country is very hilly and often wooded, so we are rarely galloping for long distances, whereas if you are hunting on flatter country, it may be a lot faster, where you could struggle to keep up on a small pony.