Fjords and Haflingers - where can I find either?

Lilz29

Visit site
Hi all!

I've recently been looking for a new pony and absolutely love Fjords and Haflingers, does anyone know where I might be able to find either? I've had a look around online but have hardly come across any, the only ones I've found are foals, I'm looking for one which has some life experience (as I'm looking for a been there done it confidence giver type, i'm not a total beginner but I'm used to riding school ponies and am learning), presume this makes the search harder but I'm happy to wait for the right one, if anyone has any advice/info that'd be much appreciated! many thanks in advance :)

Sprout

www.horse-riding-world.com
I cant help you with where to look, but just wanted to say I had a HaffieXFjord called Custard who I adored, but oh boy could he be stubborn and strong .... ground work and consistent firmness and boundaries are essential.
Good Luck in your search for something suitable.

wren123

Visit site
We had a fjord pony at our RDA and he was quite strong willed, he used to need a strong, experienced leader! I wouldn't have thought suitable for a first pony, he wasn't nasty but he thought his way was the right way.

I've edited to say he was a great RDA pony in a lot of ways, not spooky, not bothered by unbalanced, unpredictable riders and also good to lead in that he was quite forward.

Last edited:
Visit site
As you can imagine we have a lot of fjords over here, we also have quite a lot of Haflingers. Neither breed for me, would really be suitable for a beginner. They are generally very strong willed and im Yet to come across one that isn’t strong to ride. Most will need a confident, experienced rider. Obviously there are exceptions to every breed, just not met one yet.

I quite like this article about Haflingers, this might explain better: https://horseracingsense.com/haflinger-horses-good-beginner-riders-facts/

Last edited:

paddy555

Visit site