Foal turnout other horses

Wagtail

Horse servant
Visit site
A livery client of mine will be putting her mare in foal this season and I have a few questions. Despite forty years of working with and caring for horses, including the handling, training and breaking of youngsters from yearlings, I have zero experience with new born foals and up to a year old! Other than seeing a birth and watching mares and foals.

The mare is currently in a field with three geldings and is the boss. She is also good friends with my mare who is turned out with my gelding. I have another gelding who needs individual turn out. So seven horses in total on seven acres. Currently in three turnout groups. The mare to be put in foal already has a foaling size box with soft stall rubber matting and megazorb bedding. My questions are these:

Must she be changed to straw bedding, and if so, when?
When the foal is born, how long must she and the foal be kept separate from the other horses in her own paddock, if at all?
Which group should she and her foal be turned out with when the time comes? Is she best going back into her established herd, or just in with my mare? Will the other horses try to harm the foal? Even my old mare can be a bit rough at times.

Spring Feather

Visit site
Must she be changed to straw bedding, and if so, when?
When the foal is born, how long must she and the foal be kept separate from the other horses in her own paddock, if at all?
Which group should she and her foal be turned out with when the time comes? Is she best going back into her established herd, or just in with my mare? Will the other horses try to harm the foal? Even my old mare can be a bit rough at times.
You will want the foal born on straw so change it prior to her foaling.