Freelance grooms cost

coss

Visit site
I've done a quick search and this topic hasn't been covered for a while. Just wondering what the more up to date rates are?
I've been doing the odd bit of freelance grooming for the past 6 years and thinking of a price change as still on the original pay - minimum wage has obviously increased in that time.
I also started out simply having about 15years worth of horse experience and now am a fully qualified BHSAI.
I have set my fees for exercising of horses fairly recently but just general yard duties have been the same since 2010.

The number of horses has changed over the years- now 7 and a foal. The number brought in at night varies - usually anywhere between 3 and 6. I only visit twice a week (am) and do holiday cover. I don't know how many horses I will be having to muck out until I get there either. Travel isn't too bad as it's local but would you charge an hourly rate or per stable rate with a minimum fee?
Tasks include feeding, mucking out (very messy stables), rug changes, turnout, feeding/checking horses that weren't in overnight. Some are on shavings, some on straw....
I do other horses for other people too but usually there's up to 3 horses so far less responsibility and more consistent timings.
This is also not my sole job - technically I could afford not to do it at all but it's a handy fill in job for when other jobs slack off

Last edited:

ihatework

Visit site
Hourly fee is usual, often with a minimum amount if not there for a few hours.

Price I'd imagine varies with location, around here freelancers are around £12ph

be positive

Visit site