Friesians BD debut!

alainax

Visit site
Well kinda... We are taking part in the BD My Quest events :)

I have had Nero for 2.5 years, one of these we had off. I was not riding for a year whilst pregnant, in the mean time he was doing to happy hacking :) We have been back training together for a couple of months, and I thought we might as well jump in at the deep end!

He hasn't been off the yard in 2 years, so I was a little aprehensive as to how it would all go. I have only ever done a test at our wonderful breed show, so also I am also complete noob!
IMG_2292_zps4q2bvrsy.jpg

Well.. he was a super star! He took it all in his rather massive stride. Loaded first time at dark o'clock in the morning, traveled perfectly, and was a proper gentle man. We booked a stable so we could both relax a bit.
IMG_2319_zpslyt9mrdg.jpg

My lovely trainer was there, who helped me through my nerves ( she is fab, trainer/psychologist!). I have a fear of horses bolting when I get on through past experience. Nero always stands like a rock. When I stood on the block, she told me to breath it all out, and asked me has he ever taken off before. I said no, she said " well get on then!". He of course stood like a rock...

The warm up was a little daunting, very small and he isn't keen on horses pinning him against the wall. But we muddled on through. I need to learn to be more assertive and to concentrate on me and him, and not be worried about others coming towards us.

We entered the main arena for the test, and it was all very very new! Music on, judges box, white boards, horse eating flowers etc etc. In his head I am sure he was singing this song...

[video=youtube;ZPblZa10_Pk]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPblZa10_Pk[/video]