Fused Hock

gingerarab

Visit site
My horse of a lifetime is now 25 yrs young and up till today hasnt been lame sick or sorry.

This morning when I went to get him in he didnt look right, colicy but also not right behind. Vet came out, treated the mild colic then agreed he wasnt right behind. She flexion tested him and at that point he went lame.

Roll on afternoon and vet back with x ray machine. The xrays showed virtually total fusion in one hock which has obviously taken a long time. I have to say I am completely shocked as he has never shown a lameness or discomfort.

At the age of 25 he has every right to be showing signs of age in this way, but I just cant believe he has never shown any pain. Vet is coming back to inject the joint with steriods.

Although in years he is an old man, in mind he still thinks he is 5 ! I really believe that he would hate to be a field ornament and keeping him in light work is what keeps him young.

I have no experience of this at all, so your opinions/experience most welcome.

applecart14

Visit site
My horse of a lifetime is now 25 yrs young and up till today hasnt been lame sick or sorry.

This morning when I went to get him in he didnt look right, colicy but also not right behind. Vet came out, treated the mild colic then agreed he wasnt right behind. She flexion tested him and at that point he went lame.

Roll on afternoon and vet back with x ray machine. The xrays showed virtually total fusion in one hock which has obviously taken a long time. I have to say I am completely shocked as he has never shown a lameness or discomfort.

At the age of 25 he has every right to be showing signs of age in this way, but I just cant believe he has never shown any pain. Vet is coming back to inject the joint with steriods.

Although in years he is an old man, in mind he still thinks he is 5 ! I really believe that he would hate to be a field ornament and keeping him in light work is what keeps him young.