has anyone paid for a horse whilst studying full time at uni?

TheMule

Visit site
Yes, by working through the holidays and having a part time job/ riding horses for people during term time. I wasn't that focused on my studies though! I did a science degree so plenty of time spent in lectures/ labs but not that much time working in my own time!

DirectorFury

Visit site
Yep, easily. I did online work (SEO) to pay for any non-essential extras (lessons and nice saddlecloths mainly!). I bought the horse as I was starting my second year of uni and have kept her all through my BSc, MSci, and I'm now going into the second year of my PhD and still have her. She's now on full livery as I have the money but not the time to do DIY.

My degree was in Computer Science, for the BSc I probably had 25 hours of lectures a week during term time (+ time spent working outside of lectures) but term was only 2 blocks of 10-12 weeks so relatively little time was actually spent in uni. With the MSci I had 6 hours of lectures/labs but I was easily doing 40 hours work in my own time.
Now with the PhD I just turn up for meetings with my supervisor once a month and as long as the work is done he's happy :p.

LittleVet

Visit site
I had mine for the last 2 and a half years of my vet degree although the final year he was on loan to a college due to me being all over the place on placement. I paid for him but mainly with savings from before uni as had no time to work once at uni!

Cocorules

Visit site
Yes but I lived at home and worked too. It was also in the days of no tuition fees and I got a full grant so not really comparable. I also had some savings before I started as it was in an era where child labour was fine and I had paid jobs from the age of 7.

Nowadays it is probably down to whether you can borrow enough and your degree is going to give you the earning power to pay it back.