Hay prices - What are you all paying?

Puppy

Visit site
What are people paying for small bales of hay this year? :)

I've been using large bales of haylage for several years now, but due to having a rather serious change around in horses over the last year, we've bought some small bale hay today, and I'm very pleased with the quality and price. Seems to be the only thing that has actually got CHEAPER when it comes to horses :rolleyes: today we paid about the same price I was paying ten years ago! :)

Kallibear

Visit site
Some seem to be getting it very cheap!

£4.50 round here is a good price for a small bale. Some places are charging £5.50 and individual from the local feed store are £7!. Large round bales are £40 this year, £45 for high quality.

Large bale haylege is £30.

Puppy

Visit site
Blimey! Quite a variation then! I suppose it depends where in the country you are.

I should have said, we're in Cambridgeshire and we had 120 bales, delivered, for £400 :) Plus two chaps to help my mother and I stack it. ;) I'm so please with the quality, and relieved at the price; last time I bought small bale hay I think it was more like £5 per bale!!

kit279

Visit site
Puppy, where did you get yours from? I'd like to get in a little bit of hay in addition to haylage this year in case they have to come in and be stabled.

Jnhuk

Visit site
Some seem to be getting it very cheap!

£4.50 round here is a good price for a small bale. Some places are charging £5.50 and individual from the local feed store are £7!. Large round bales are £40 this year, £45 for high quality.

Large bale haylege is £30.

Kallibear - I got mine for £3-50 a bale from a farmer near Ikea at Straiton but only thing it that you have to collect it from the farm as he doesn't deliver.

Also can get round bales for £25 from a local farmer but unfortunately I don't have anywhere to store large bales.

missk

Visit site