Heart murmur?

Acolyte

Visit site
Yes I know this should be in veterinary, but thought more people might see it in New Lounge?!

I might be looking at a horse (with a view to buying it) which has a heart murmur, which is detectable at rest. No-one really seems to be able to tell me what the implications of this might be - I want to event it at PN max, so relatively speaking it wouldn't be doing that much

I assume it would fail the vetting and also I would not be able to insure it - has anyone any experience/observations please?

KatB

Visit site
I know a very well known JRN horse that has a heart murmur. Its never caused a prob for him, yes its excluded from insurance, but he was sold for a very tidy sum about 5mnths ago, so obviously wasnt that big a deal in the vetting.
smile.gif

djb

Visit site
I'm not an expert but just my experience. I went along with a friend who was having a horse vetted for PN/N eventing. The horse had a heart murmer at rest - the vet had it trotted up straight away and it still had a murmer then had it lunged - as it didn't go away with exercise he stopped the vetting immediately and failed the horse. Said it was not suitable for eventing as it could potentially drop dead!
They apparantly grade them 1-5 according to seriousness.
I believe that if they have one at rest and it goes away when exercised it is not as serious. If you are going to have this horse vetted I would suggest you ask your vet to do this bit first to save you going any further if it is bad.

not_with_it

Visit site
I used to schoola a horse with a slight heart murmer. it never affected him but we were only schooling and occasionally jumping. I personally wouldnt have done anymore with him as I didnt want to put any more pressure on his heart.

pottamus

Visit site