Help please! 3.5t horsebox - 'build up vehicle report'

cold_feet

Visit site
A long term reader, but I rarely post. Would very much like some advice on dealing with DVLA.

In June I bought a 3.5t Renault Master horsebox, registered in 2009 and custom coachbuilt as a horsebox last November. Apparently before that it was a butchers van.

When we did the deal, I was given the new keeper tear off slip from the registration document and the seller filled in the relevant bit to send to DVLA. She said something about having to declare change of use, but I didn't really give it too much thought.

I have now had a letter from the DVLA asking me to complete a built up vehicle report - it asks for details I have no knowledge of (eg serial number and receipts for various parts). I phoned DVLA to check what this was all about, to be told it is not possible to reclassify a 3.5t vehicle as a horsebox, and it would have to be classified as HGV. Surely that can't be right? I have been asked to send photos, but am uneasy now that I have been caught out, and have a lorry I can't drive and can't sell. Hope someone here can put my mind at rest!

Many thanks for reading this!

cundlegreen

Visit site
Maybe go back to the firm that did the conversion? They must have a record of the work and spec of the lorry. My 7.5 ton lorry started life as a curtainsider, then I took off that body, added a box van and made a horsebox from it. I don't remember it being complicated, just said it was now a horsebox.

The Fuzzy Furry

Getting old disgracefully
Visit site
Well over 50% of the staff you speak to at DVLA will not recognise a 3.5t as a horsebox, it will usually be called a 'van'. Many conversions or even purpose built are down as this on the reg doc, some however ARE allowed through as horsebox.

Blame DVLA - and get info from the original builder of the box

Spottyappy

Visit site