HELP: suitable horse

d87mro

New User
Visit site
hi there, i'm new to the forum, sorry if this is in the wrong place or been asked before. I'm recently new to riding a few months, so a novice. i'm looking at owning my own horse, what would be a suitable breed and what size hands?

I'm a novice rider, 6'1 tall, quiet long legs and 13 stone currently though dieting at the moment to loose weight.

I know that horses can can carry 20% of their body weight but was looking for ideas of breeds and rough heights that would suit.

at the riding school im riding a 15'3 stocky cob, what would be the smallest size suitable cob do you think?

ive noticed there's a lot of ardennes horses being imported at the moment, anyone had any experience?

many thanks all :):)

J

bluebellfreddy

Visit site
I would say wait another year or so, if you have only just started. Then take your instructor looking with you. They can help with your questions.

Pippity

Visit site
If you've only been riding a few months, I'd hold off on getting your own just yet. Your riding will progress so much in the next year or so that a horse that's right for you now, won't be right for you a year down the line.

d87mro

New User
Visit site
thank you for the replies, so i have an idea, how long was it into your riding careers before you got your first horse? im still looking into it all, nothings set in stone yet.

Pippity

Visit site
Well, I started riding thirty years ago, and still haven't owned my own! ;)

More seriously, I'm now 35 and took up riding again ~6 months ago after a ten year break. I'm currently solid at walk and trot, am getting there with canter, have popped a few 2' fences, and if leg yields and turns on the forehand can be counted as lateral work, I'm just starting lateral work.