Help with my riding confidence!

MyDappledConnemara

Visit site
I've been riding for four years now, and have done quite a bit of competing and a lot of jumping. I recently got my first horse, a 15hh six year old registered Connemara who is naturally quite stressy and has found it difficult to settle in, causing him to spook and rear. He's had everything checked, so I'm having him re schooled by a very experienced rider. As I am less confident than her (I'm not nervous however), I'm worried he will go back to his naughty ways when I get back on. What should I do? Help would be much appreciated.

Makemineacob

Visit site
Not helping his behaviour but could you go to a reliable riding school nearby for a few sessions? It can help to ride a "sensible" horse to give your own confidence a boost. Then you may feel more prepared when you get back on your lad. When you do get back on your lad could you get the rider to be with you through various "challenges", i.e in the school, a little hack out etc and give you the benefit of their expertise as to how they deal with the issue when your boy has a "moment".

njyr

Visit site