Hi Viz clothing

Have you posted something in every lounge?

• Total voters

gemma1992

Visit site
I don't hack out because the horses i ride are unpredictable and the road is VERY DANGEROUS (Bendy and fast). If I did hack out I'd always wear Ho-Viz clothing.
I think wearing Hi-Viz clothing makes road users more aware of riders

piebaldsparkle

Visit site
I my opinion if you are going on the road you should wear Hi-Viz & Fluorescent. Not sure if you drive, but as a driver I have found Hi-Viz works great in low light levels as picked up by headlights and Fluorescent clothing/tabbards/boots stand out in all light levels.
smile.gif

Having been hit by a volvo in bright sunshine driver apparently couldn't see 6 x horses and 3 x riders as was dazzled by the sun!!!!! (Shame she didn't think it was worth slowing down or stopping if she couldn't see where she was going).
mad.gif

Anyway anything that draws a drivers attention to you has got to be worthwhile.

Clodagh

Visit site
I believe that if you don't your insurance company can refuse to pay out in the event of an accident.
I only wear a hi viz waistcoat, or in winter a sort of dustmans hi viz coat, can't bear glittery pink flouro browbands etc!
I always wear it though, I have a dark grey horse and ride on narrow overgrown lanes.

TGM

Visit site
I always wear Hi Viz on the roads. As a driver I have noticed how difficult it can be to see horses even on sunny days if they are in the shadow of trees or hedging. It definitely ensures that drivers see you more quickly, giving them more time to avoid you. As we have a lot of narrow bendy lanes here I always wear a reflective band on my hat so I can be seen over the top of the hedges.

Shrimp

Visit site
If I go on a hack which takes me onto busy roads I will always wear Hi-Viz but I am lucky here and I dont have to go on the roads unless I want to so in that situation I dont normally wear Hi-Viz.

MagicMelon

Visit site