Hooves/feed/barefoot... Questions from a confused new owner!

ponyparty

Visit site
I know, I haven't even officially got my horse yet (I move him to his new yard this weekend)! But I've been trying to decide on a farrier, and wondering about what to do longer term re: shoes. I'm not planning on making any changes to diet, shoes or routine until he's settled in at his new yard - but want to plan for the coming months.

He only has shoes on his fronts. His hinds are fairly good (I think... Though I am no hoof expert, hence why I'm here!). His fronts have a tendency to flare slightly and crack, sometimes up to the clench. In late summer he had chunks of hoof wall missing, this is now growing out though. I'm just wondering if taking him barefoot all round might be a viable option.

I've read a lot about how important diet is, and I think that what he's on now is probably not the ideal for healthy hoof growth? So I will probably change this first, when he's settled in, and see how he goes.

He's currently on 1/2 scoop Hi Fi Lite AM, and 1/2 scoop Hi Fi Lite + 1/2 scoop Coola Mix + 1 small scoop Equimins Hoof Mender PM. Occasionally gets a few horse and pony nuts in a treat ball too. He has access to (and uses) a Himalayan salt lick; I've just bought him a Magnacalm lick too, to see if that helps chill him out when he moves yards this weekend.

Any advice on what feed to change him to? He hots up easily, can be sharp and spooky, but drops condition easily in winter. I've been told linseed hots them up; but I've also been told it doesn't. There is so much conflicting information out there, including on old threads on here which I've been perusing. Calmag/magox... which one?! Are they the same thing?!

Also... is there a best time of year to embark upon the barefoot journey? Winter/summer?

Few pics to illustrate what his feet are like - aware they're not from an ideal angle, just to give you an idea though.

Near fore:
uQiKOXg.jpg

dIJiigr.jpg

Near hind:
kKvUaiZ.jpg