Horse displaying colicy symptoms.

BOWS28

Visit site
Ok so firstly, apologies for the mega long post and TIA for reading.
A horse that is stabled on the same yard as mine has been displaying colicy symptoms on and off for a good few months now. He is in very light work, stabled over night and gets fed ad lib hay and a very simple hard feed consisting of only chaff and sugarbeet. he was diagnosed with ulcers which have been treated and has got the all clear from the vet.
He has been treated by their vet multiple times for the colic but they cannot determine why it is happening.
I studied equine at college when I was younger and was very fascinated by the anatomy side of things. Hence my curiosity for the reasoning behind his colic bouts. Out of interest, has anyone had an experience similar and have had an accurate diagnosis as to why it is happening? I would love to be able to offer some advice for my friend as she is so worried!!
Thank you in advance.

Scarlett

Visit site
Mine had no ulcers but was diagnosed with Inflamatory Bowel Disease via ultrasound scan. We treated him for hind gut acidosis as this seemed the most likely cause of the issues and he improved and has had no colic issues since.

I would possibly check out the hind gut.

BOWS28

Visit site
Mine had no ulcers but was diagnosed with Inflamatory Bowel Disease via ultrasound scan. We treated him for hind gut acidosis as this seemed the most likely cause of the issues and he improved and has had no colic issues since.

I would possibly check out the hind gut.
I have suggested requesting having his hind gut investigated - her vet didn't even suggest that as an option and insisted it was ulcer related!

be positive

Visit site
I have suggested requesting having his hind gut investigated - her vet didn't even suggest that as an option and insisted it was ulcer related!