Horse suddenly spooking, bolting and bucking.. HELP!

Sparky321.

New User
Visit site
Hello,

I was just wondering if anyone could give me some advice on how to handle and treat these problems.

Ive been having lessons from a lovely lady recently on a normally bomb proof older horse, I've had lessons for a few months now and at the start he was fine but the last four lessons he either bucks when asked to go into canter or spooks at random objects, sounds or cyclists and then bolts. Im a novice rider with, little confidence.
My last lesson I was off of the lead rein in canter for the first time and he bolted around the arena and decided to jump one of the jumps set up. I luckily haven't fallen off yet, but I'm getting more and more nervous around him.

Is he sensing my nerves and going off of them? or is there another reason?

He has lost weight recently, and when we picked his feet out he tried to rear (which he never does.)

I'm worried as he is also on loan to two young children, in which he doesnt do any of this stuff.

I am a twenty year old woman and I am worried it is his back as I weigh alot more than young girls, so he would be in more pain with me riding.

Any advice would be much appreciated as I really do love this horse and I cant stand to think that I could be causing discomfort to him.

Thank you.

Red-1

I used to be decisive, now I'm not so sure...
Visit site
I would proceed with caution. You are having lessons from this lady? In which case she *should* be insured, but probably is not. She also *should* ensure that the horse she gives lessons on does not buck or run off on your first solo canter. As she had your first solo canter in a school with jumps set up than I *presume* she is not qualified either!

Honestly? I would find somewhere else to have lessons.

I am guessing you think that too, hence posting.

Confidence is easily lost and hard won back.

Shay

Visit site