How long was your first lesson?

JBR

Visit site
Hi folks! I'm excited to be having my first riding lesson next week as a complete adult beginner.

The centre manager has booked me in for a private lesson with himself lasting an hour. He knows I'm a beginner - he's briefed me on what to wear.

Does this seem too long? Most places seem to go for 30-minute lessons for complete beginners.

I keep an open mind and hope the lesson is split between actual riding and doing things off the horse. Although, a part of me thinks I may have been duped into agreeing to something unnecessary and almost twice the price.

I'm curious to know what your thoughts and experiences are!

Thanks ?

Skib

sites.google.com
I had my first lesson as an adult beginner and the half hour lesson was too short. An hour would have been great.
Most of my half hour was taken up by teaching me how to adjust my stirrups and my girth from the saddle. I was also (on safety grounds after another elderly rider fell when dismounting) taught the cavalry dismount which I continue to use to this day.

It is quite likely that at some point in the future you too may hack solo or share a horse and need to take care of these these things for yourself. But if I had had an hour lesson like you are offered, I would have loved that.

It is also good that you are booked with an experienced teacher. I was taught by about 6 different students in my first 2 months of riding. My first year of lessons were highy problematical. And what you have been offered sounds good, if you can afford it.

If you cant afford a 1 hour lesson, it is best to discuss it with the school. Riding is an expensive hobby and I was lucky. I had a legacy and could afford to ride twice a week.

Stable management lessons (tacking up, grooming etc) are usually a bit cheaper as one is not working the RS horse.
Ground work (how to lead the horse and control it from the ground) is also for me as important as learning to ride.