How many chances do you give your farrier??

I LOVE Football?

• Total voters

PoppyPony

Visit site
I am fairly new to the technicalities (sp?? blonde moment...) of horse ownership, and having never had to deal with farriers further than holding horses for them and getting them cups of tea, I am slightly worried about mine!

He has let me down every single time I have arranged for him to come and shoe my horse, and has been late every single time he has actually come (I know this is not unusual for this particular breed of people!). I have had to make several appointments for each time, which really bugs me.

Last time I did not get a phone call and he did not turn up at all (I waited several hours). The first time he used the excuse that he couldn't find the yard but then I found out he shoes another horse on the same yard.

It is incredibly difficult to get hold of him (again I know not unusual).

So does 'Mr Reliable' exist? What are yours' like?

the watcher

Visit site
Mine is great, comes at short notice, arrives early, happy to go to field and catch neddies, or help turn out after, if he time has been out riding with me (he likes my neddies), discusses what he is doing or any changes he wants to make, will put on any lost shoes on horses that are not his customers while there for mine...and he is very competitively priced (£45 full set)

Halfpass

Visit site
My farrier is fab. Came today arrived 1 hour early (called first to check if ok). Will come at short notice and even returns calls!!!
shocked.gif

ihatework

Visit site
Mine is good, always turns up, very occasionally late but always calls to let you know. Will come out short notice to replace a shoe if needed. Friendly and chatty, does a good job.

I would not stand for what your farrier has done, when I moved to a new area I gave this one farrier 2 chances, the second time I sacked him!

kick_On

Visit site