How much risk is too much risk?

Pmf27

Visit site
Hi all!

Eurgh, I've been putting off asking this for today but I can't stop churning this round in my head, so here goes...

Some of you may recall my last post about a horse I've started a trial loan with, which has been hugely exciting but I fear it has already thrown a problem up which I don't really know if I'm experienced enough to deal with.

It was only a couple of weeks ago that I posted on here saying "I've only fallen off a horse once, does that mean I'm not experienced enough?" And everyone's advice was "DON'T JINX IT" - well, it seems I kind of have!

I went to see him again the other day and had another ride but this time he had a bit of a 'moment'. He hopped off the track, bucked and did a mini rear which absolutely terrified me. I didn't fall but this was only because I got myself caught in the stirrup (I think? It all happened very fast I wasn't really able to take stock of what was happening).

His owner wasn't worried and barely batted an eye, but my OH later confided that he was scared it was gonna be an A&E job and he was poised ready to run to my aid, bless him! I think I dealt with it okay, as I pushed on and kept riding but it had left my confidence in tatters and each time he started getting any speed to canter I bailed and went back to trot.

This is where my question comes in really, as I'm now not sure what to do about continuing with the loan and my reason for this is actually nothing to do with the horse. I felt that I'd landed on my feet with this being my first loan as his owners are lovely and so supportive and he is a very sweet and affectionate horse BUT the yard is in the middle of nowhere and I would be the only person there when I go to see him.