How much would you expect to pay for a green horse?

Kelly2016

Visit site
I'm looking to buy my first horse in the near future and looking for some advice. Although this will be the first horse I have owned, I have 20 years riding and care experience and have worked with green/young horses since I was 14/15.

I would be looking for something 16hh+, 4-5 years old. Happy with something recently broken with basics in place that needs bringing on. My aim would be to bring on myself to do some eventing. Not bothered about breeding, however would like something of a Sport Horse Type, but would also consider a TB/retrained racehorse.

Realistically, what sort of budget would I be looking at from your experience?

I was thinking up to £2,000 max for the horse, maybe up to £2,500 if some tack/rugs were included.

Is this realistic? Or am I way off?

ihatework

Visit site
Normally I would say that sort of price you would be buying at a big gamble and with a lot of hard work ahead of you (and that still applies). But post COVID I think there will be a few reasonable young sports horses to be picked up at that price.

Whether or not a green youngster is right for you is another matter. The cost of producing them makes the purchase price pale into insignificance. I’d honestly not recommend it if you have never owned a horse before

Shay

Visit site
As ihw says - in a "normal" world £2K would not really be enough for something decent. For a youngster well strated and with potential you would be looking at double that, sometimes more. But in a post CV world - who knows. It may well be that there will be a lot of horses looking for new homes as owners need to cope with the changed economy.

SaddlepadHoarder

Visit site
I've bought two youngsters in the last four years for under 2k. One was 1.5k and had never been touched until 2 days before I got her. The other had been ridden but turned away and brought into work 4 weeks before viewing- he was 1.8k.