How to ‘go with’ the horse when jumping

PeachnRo38197

New User
Visit site
I’m a novice rider who is very out of practice. I used to ride a lot when I was younger. Didn’t go near the sport for 15 years and now here I am again!

I’m only just getting back in to jumping and a 70cm straight pole would be enough to put me on edge (15 years ago you probably could have doubled it and I’d have given it a go). But I’m having a huge issue with anticipating the fence. I’ll see a perfect stride and 9 times out of 10 my horse will do it, but that 1 time out of 10 when he might take a long stride, because I’m anticipating that perfect stride, I always get left behind, and on landing I’m really unbalanced and have fallen twice because of this.

My horse is an absolute saint, it’s not his fault it’s mine! Do you guys have any recommendations for exercises or grid work or just plain and simple advice that can help me stop anticipating the jump and instead just go with the horse when he takes off?

I know it sounds so silly, and it probably just comes with practice but it really takes a toll on my confidence and I would just love to be able to get back to the way I used to be!

ycbm

Einstein would be proud of my Insanity...
Visit site
The greatest piece of advice about jumping I was ever given was to look over the fence, not at it.

Hope that helps, but well done for giving it a go ?

Last edited:

Bernster

Visit site