Huge Disappointment - She is Not in foal

Ravenwood

Visit site
I can't believe how deflated and down I feel.

My mare was scanned today - 14 days after last covering, 20 days after the first - but nope, nothing to be seen.

My vet spent a long time making doubley sure and then he scanned everything to see if there were any abnormalities, cysts etc.

He said that the follicle on the left side was about 3cm which inidcates that she is about to come into season again - and yes, she would be due in 2/3 days if she hasn't taken
frown.gif

The vet suggested that she could be injected to make her ovulate which might be a good idea.

If I take her back again, I might leave her there for the 3 weeks this time and have her scanned at stud, rather than bring her home early.

Any advice, suggestions or thoughts very welcome.

mojito

Visit site
Oh No sorry to hear that, thats exactly what I was dreading with my scan on Monday. I've no advice for you as I'm new to all this myself but hopefully it will happen the next time - don't give up!!

Fahrenheit

www.ipcmedia.com
Sorry to hear that, better luck next time.

We routinely scan for ovulation (we routinely scan prior to covering as well) it works very well for us...

the vet scans the follicles, injects them into season if necessary, scans when comes into season and tells us which day to cover on, injects to ovulate, they have one covering, then he comes back to make sure they have ovulated (and see how many follicles they have ovulated! had 3 double ovulations last year and 3 lots of twins and 3 sucessful pinches) and gives any necessary after treatment, then scans for pregnancy 2 weeks later.