hunting newbie - turnout question

blood_magik

Visit site
hi,
I'm going hunting for the first time next week and, if someone could be so kind, I have a few questions regarding turnout. :)

I have a tweed jacket and a black show jacket - which would be preferred? if it's tweed, stock or
tie?

spurs - I have short round-end ones. are these acceptable?

can my horse wear boots?
will I be ok using a dark coured numnah?

I know im expected to plait but do I do his tail as well? I'm not very good with tail plaits.

thanks in advance :)
I'm so excited :eek:

spacefaer

Visit site
there are loads of threads on this if you search including a sticky at the top of the page.

I would recommend your hacking jacket as it's probably thicker (warmer) than a show jacket. Put a close fitting sweater underneath if you don't have a thermal stock shirt - there's nothing worse than being cold! Coloured stock, fawn/buff breeches, long black boots - gloves, hairnet - generally clean, tidy and presentable :) Your spurs sound fine too.

Dark numnah and girth, boots are fine if you really have to (if your horse genuinely brushes for instance) but most people don't as they can slip or the mud can get inside and can cause really bad rubs.

Plaiting is good - not essential to plait tails - they look really smart but a clean brushed one can be better than a badly plaited one!

Hope you have fun - come back and tell us about it!

Tzarinaarabians

Visit site
My horses never wear boots out hunting, for the reasons that Spacefaer gives above.

Depending on which Hunt you are hunting with, I would ring the Hunt Sec., regarding tweed/black jacket, beforehand. It's not tweed wearing season, but some Hunts are pickier than others when it comes to choice of jacket. Always stock over tie.