I would just like to defend Farriers if i may

TheFarrier

jamesthefarrier.co.uk
As a professional i wish to defend my profession and my passion. Shoeing horses.

I know that some of you have ended up with very bad experiences. There was one on here where to ownder had emloyed someone who was not registered... things went badly and she was upset. Fair enough but you as the owner have access to all the information you need to employ a farrier legally and you are held up by the FRC as accountable as the farrier who practiced illegally. sorry about that

The major issue i wish to defend is this one, lateness. Now i understand that there are farriers who are late/dont ring/dont even show up/dont ans the phone etc. I am not one of them (although i wish when people ring they could practice common curtesy and leave a message. i am a busy man and no message no call back)
I have never ever been more than ONE HOUR late. tops. and i always (and i do mean always) let my clients know if there is any change! ALWAYS (my wife makes sure of this isnt she great!)
laugh.gif

here is a list of reasons that a farrier could be late: (now i dont wish to offend anyone by this post at all. But enough. I know you may have had a bad experience but the stuff i have had to put up with (and everything below is minor and i wont go into the major stuff because it is not professional and i am) is caused by clients and their disregard for me, my safety and the fact that i am just trying to run a business. I keep these clients because i have to make a living. that is an asside though

*a client is late
*a client does not have their horse caught and waiting
*a client takes their time about catching said horse/paying/booking in etc
*a client askes me to do extra horses (which we sometimes have to do as we are only human and do want to keep all of our clients happy!)