I'm intrigued....

Megan_T

Visit site
Hello everyone :) I'm new to AAD *waves*

I loiter here a lot and read your fab posts and wobble over the photo's of your lovely dogs but have never posted.

Well, I have a question for you knowledgable lot...

Myself and my long suffering OH would dearly, dearly love a dog but at the moment we both work full-time and aren't in any kind of position to "get back to them at lunchtime" or anything. So I fear it woudn't be fair on a dog to leave it in the house for the whole day, Monday-Friday :(

I was just wondering how everybody else manages? Surely not everyone on the forum is either part-time or not working etc etc? Or maybe they are! (lucky devils!)

I was just curious really to see what other people do?

Thank you muchly x :)

CorvusCorax

Justified & Ancient
Visit site
Hi there.

What breed were you thinking and would the dogs be inside or outside? Would to be in the position to exercise the dog before and after work?
Is there somebody you could rely on or employ to see to the dog during the day, or a doggy-daycare type facility near you?

You might be able to offer a good home to an older rescue, or even better, a pair of rescues- but it would be a matter of finding a rescue who would rehome to someone with working hours like yours.

It would not be an ideal situation for a young pup I'm afraid, they thrive on companionship and early basic training needs to be done early and as part of a routine.

We have kept a dog like that, she was an outdoors dog and was never alone for that amount of time until well into adulthood and she coped well, but I would not recommend it to everyone.

As with everything, it really does depend on the dog.

I do think it is unrealistic to expect only retired/part time workers/the unemployed/house wives or husbands to be the only ones able to own dogs though.

BigRed

Visit site