In front of the leg and behind the leg - explanation?

tootsietoo

Visit site
Can anyone describe to me what they understand by these phrases? They are used a lot by coaches and whilst I think I understand what they are trying to ask riders to do, they don't actually give me a clear visual or feeling that help me do the right thing. Or is it as simple as a horse in front of the leg is energetic whilst a horse behind the leg is being sluggish and lazy?

Barnacle

Visit site
I like to think of a horse that is "behind the leg" as one that needs reminding. While a horse that is "in front of the leg" is one that reads your mind.

But basically, yes, it's that simple.

crabbymare

Visit site
pretty much as above in front of the leg the horse is taking you forwards (politely and without rushing). and behind the leg you are having to send the horse forwards. in front of the leg does not mean no leg though :)

oldie48

Visit site
I am no expert but I think it means "is the horse on your aids" or in it's own la la land. It might be rushing forward, or it might feel really sluggish but when you ask for something, does it react?

Pigeon

Visit site
Yes, your horse can be galloping and still behind the leg. I guess its quarters engaged and on the aids. When your horse is in front of the leg you will KNOW :p

tootsietoo

Visit site
see, those explanations are all slightly different! I think lots of teachers have taken up using it without realising that it means slightly different things to different people. Next time my instructor uses it I'm going to have to ask her to tell me exactly what to do.

Would like some more suggestions if anyone else has other ideas?

AdorableAlice

Visit site
Behind the leg and on the forehand in canter.

060_zps4b927e4f.jpg

In front of the leg in canter (newly broken horse) still on forehand but not as bad as the other cob.

DSCF1489_zpsg0qudrfr.jpg