In-hand Showing

StarFell

Visit site
I've entered a couple of in-hand classes at a local agricultural show with my fell gelding this weekend, and as I've never done it before I'm not really sure what to ezpect. Will I have to use a white halter, or will my bridle do? What will I have to do?

helenhorse

Visit site
I wouldnt use a white halter as they are popular with welsh cobs as we use them..i think a flat nosebanded bridle will look very smart..either a snaffle or pelhem. You will all walk round and usually you will be stopped in a certain corner and asked to trot round individually for the judge to have the first look in order to place you in the line....Once placed in the line up you will all be expected to stand infront of the judge for him to 'judge' the horse and then you will be asked to walk away from the judge turn around (pushing the horse away from you) and then walk back a few steps and then trot passed the judge in a straight line and then settle down back into your line...finally you will be sent large again and the final placings will be chosen by the judge.
it will be fun for you both..remember when you trot back to the judge always trot back straight, dont worry about knowcking the judge over, he'l move!!
wink.gif
you need to show that your horse can move straight..hold the reins about a full hand length away from the bit so you have sufficiant contact but arnt forcing his head up or down. Hold his head up when standing for the judge to show of his neck and shoulder and stand him square so that the judge can access his body and limbs.

good luck and have fun
grin.gif

WhiteHorseWendy

Visit site