Insurance Bureaucracy Grrrr - Rant!

burtie

Visit site
How silly is this, I am chaning Hannahs insurance a bit as she is going out on loan. I am decreasing her vets excess to the normal £120 as I had it at £500. I am also increasing her value form the nominal amount to £2k, hardly a staggering figure, but they want somebody like an intructor to write to confirm she is worth this amount!!!! I pointed out that I was an instructor but that probably wouldn't count
grin.gif

I then advised that she has BSJA winings and is sound and healthy(they know this as they insure her already!). But now I've got to got to find a suitably qualified friend to confirm she is worth the £2k I want to insure her at! I know they are only doing this to protect me from over insuring and if I wanted to up her cover to £5 or more I could understand, but £2K, you barely get a horse with 4 legs for that these days!

Tempi

Visit site
i have my PTT - is that qualified enough?! Insurance companies are a proper pain in the backside if you ask me - they ask for so much information and half the time it really dosent matter anyways............

jacks_mum

Visit site
i wanted to increase the insurance on my mini shetland from £400 to £1000 and was told i had to get a 5star vetting done!!! i'd actually like to see them try that!! would be most amusing i think

burtie

Visit site
Probably more than qualified!! Hopefully the yard manager where Hannah has lived most of the last 9 years will put something in writing for me! If not I may ask very nicely
grin.gif

Ta,

_daisy_

Visit site
i really cant believe that Burtie. Like you said its understandable if youre increasing the value but not decreasing it and especially not when theyve been insuring the horse for a while.