It's all going wrong. A WWYD ....

Wilbur_Force

Visit site
My 14 year old dressage horse has annular ligament desimitis in both hind legs and requires surgery at Newmarket. Does anyone have experience of this? One leg is worse than the other and the ligament in that leg needs cutting, whereas in the other leg it needs fraying. My poor horse has also been diagnosed with cushings and is currently suffering with keratitis and a swollen sheath. I feel so sorry for him! At the moment he's not on meds for the cushings.

My insurance may not cover the hind leg operations due to exclusions, so the question I'm asking is would you go ahead with the surgery, given all the other ailments?

He has also had a previous eye operation under GA to remove a squamous cell carcinoma from the third eyelid!

I just want to do what is best for the horse and I'm hoping that he could be retired.

Thoughts most welcome!

meesha

Visit site
Sorry no help with the ailments as I have no experience of them, but ... Can he be retired without the surgery - would he be comfortable enough to mooch around the field ? if so I would probably not operate and give him as many years retirement as he is comfortable with.

My retired mare has sidebone - she is by no means sound but gets around ok - I have not carried on insuring her as I wouldn't put her through any major operation - saying that though she is nearly 20 (and has been retired for about 8 years).

It is personal choice and only you know how your horse (and you) will cope.

....cross posted with amymay........

Wilbur_Force

Visit site