Keeping legs still-help!

Emsibuddy

Visit site
I had my lesson on wednesday without stirrups. My legs were completely still, weren't wobbling about or anything.
When my instructor told me to take my stirrups back for the remaining ten minutes or so, they wobbled around like mad. I was in sitting trot, and I found that a bounce way more with my stirrups in sitting trot than I do without them.
confused.gif

I also move my legs when I'm rising, its a real habit now. I’ve been riding a very lazy pony for the last two years and just moved off her, and now I also have a habit of kicking every two strides so that adds to my wobbly legs.
Any tips?
tongue.gif

Oh and please keep in mind that I ride at a RS, don’t have my own horsey!
Thanks!

kerilli

Visit site
umm, silly question maybe, but are you sure your knees aren't gripping a bit? that would make your lower legs move too much. try taking your knees off the saddle, point them outwards for a bit, until your lower leg gets used to just hanging there! don't worry about your toes pointing out for a bit, you can bring them back in once you can bring your knees back in without gripping, if you see what i mean.
if it's your whole leg that's moving, you need to just calm down and get used to just sitting there and giving the occasional gentle squeeze, not wriggling about all the time! riding lazy ponies can make you a bit too active as a rider, sometimes you need to just relax and let the horse move you. good luck!

Lill

Visit site
I have this too!! In sitting trot my lower leg will just NOT stay still! With stirrups, without stirrups it does the same thing! Don't think my horses striding helps, as i find my legs stay still in sitting trot on my mare, she has a much smoother less bouncy trot though!

Sorry not much help i'm afraid!

cazza

community.webshots.com