lamitis advice

ALEXCOSSIE

Visit site
hi guys, this is my first time dealing hand on with a laminitic horse during an attack. We are now at the point where she had been on box rest due to an abscess for 2 weeks abscess cleared up, out for a couple of days them brought back on box rest due to one lamaintic front foot. Vet attended advised box rest whil giving bute once of the but turn out for 30 minutes and work the time up, when advised to do this it was a short time scale before turning out (appx 4 weeks) we've looked at it and turned out after 6/7 weeks for very short periods of time. she has been on a deep bed and soaked hay, she is now comfortable moving in the field and the hard ground to her stable even trys to throw in a wee trot and give me a hard attack). My question is what do I do next, she's turned out for an hour or so max just now but the vet seems to be going too quick for recovery than what I expected and it worries me shell do too much too soon. I don't want to over or under do it what has worked best for you guys and what did you look out for before leaving out/ bringing into work ect. I know each case is different but im just looking for advice/pointer.

Pinkvboots

Visit site
For a horse with laminitis 2 weeks box rest is not long enough to be off the grass, in my view I wouldn't put the horse out at all and change vets, most horses with laminitis take months to heal and they should be in on a deep bed to prevent further damage to the feet as they are compromised.

Have you had x rays done?

ALEXCOSSIE

Visit site
For a horse with laminitis 2 weeks box rest is not long enough to be off the grass, in my view I wouldn't put the horse out at all and change vets, most horses with laminitis take months to heal and they should be in on a deep bed to prevent further damage to the feet as they are compromised.

Have you had x rays done?