Late gelding -any experience of this?

jaquelin

Visit site
Looking at a7 YO only recently gelded. What are likely to Bethesda issues? My experience with a rig is that you could not keep him in a field. What other issues -or maybe there are none or only minor? Is it good or bad thing.

pigsmight:)

Visit site
I am not very experienced with this sort of thing but believe a rig is a horse that either has a retained testicle or has not been properly castrated. I suppose the horses behaviour would depend on his temperament and if he has been used as a breeding stallion. I am sure others with more experience will offer good advice
Pm X

DosyMare

Visit site
I am not very experienced with this sort of thing but believe a rig is a horse that either has a retained testicle or has not been properly castrated. I suppose the horses behaviour would depend on his temperament and if he has been used as a breeding stallion. I am sure others with more experience will offer good advice
Pm X

This is my understanding of a rig, but lots of people commonly say geldings are riggy to excuse bad behaviour.
I think again it will depend of his temperament, I've know a stallion who turns out with geldings happily, but I also know geldings that can't turn out with anything.

Kaylum

Visit site
Looking at a7 YO only recently gelded. What are likely to Bethesda issues? My experience with a rig is that you could not keep him in a field. What other issues -or maybe there are none or only minor? Is it good or bad thing.

totally depends on the horse. We had a pony that had been used as a stallion and then was cut. He was a bit quirky, but you could turn him out with anything. We had a welsh cob that had covered once and then gelded he was a total star and very loving again turned out with anything.

A rig may show certain behaviour as mentioned above. A rig is not a late cut stallion. So it depends on the horse as to how he behaves. He maybe different in different circumstances.

Herts05