liver fluke

lamicjoa1

Visit site
You are best off asking your vet, but often triclabendazole is one of the main treatments- think commercial name is fasinex? But don't quote me on this, I'm just a lowly vet student ;)
Alot of the treatments arent registered for use in horses, so definitely a vet needed!

flintfootfilly

Visit site
When you say the vet is dealing with it, what do you mean they are doing, please?

My only experience of it is one fluke egg found in 3 grams of poo from one of my ponies last year. Around a dozen other samples had not shown anything. We were investigating because of raised liver enzymes.

My vet spoke to David Sutton at Glasgow Uni who is interested in liver fluke in horses and he recommended dosing with Fasinex, so if your vet hasn't already done this it is probably worth suggesting they have a word with DS.

Worth knowing, too, that there is some resistance to triclabendazole (the active ingredient of Fasinex), and I think I'm right in saying I heard of someone in the Glasgow area or thereabouts where there was known resistance to it, so again it's worth speaking to DS in case he has any suggestions relating to that.

Sarah

widget

Visit site
I had this with my yearling, after a week of not eating and weight falling off got the diagnosis and then wormed with fasinex was eating next day and now fit again

riding_high

Visit site
my horse had liver fluke a few years ago. after numerous blood tests the vet said that he had an idea of what it might be but wanted to do a liver biopsy. biopsy was done and it showed he had alot of fluke and the liver was badly damaged. he had some kind of injection (can't remember what it was called now) and after a couple of weeks i could see an improvement.

jrp204

Visit site
Fluke has been rife in sheep and cattle this year as it has been so wet, not sure how much of a risk it is with horses, would be interesting to know.

Visit site