Livery Yard - stay or go

Lacuna

Visit site
I'm unsure whether I want to stay at my current yard, nothing I can really put my finger on apart from lack of 24 turnout in the summer.

It has good hacking, run by someone I know who checks horses 2-3 times every 24 hrs and can't fault the care of my pony on 5 day part livery. But I'm still starting to look around at other alternatives, I've been hacking the same routes for 18 mths now and there is seldom anyone who can hack at the times I'm available to go out.

A livery space is available at the village I started riding in ages ago that has lots of fab trails. its a bit cheaper/offers 24 hr turnout in the summer, well drained and i know several people in the village & pub. Its just been opened by a lady who I don't know but gave me a great impression of herself and the area. There are basic facilities / a bit more storage than I'm used to / post and rail (although electrified) rather than tape, so I'm quite tempted.

I will feel guilty as anything fr leaving current yard as I kind of feel that I want to move because I'm tired of the status quo. Pony is happy (although coughing - the hay at the other yard seems to be much less dusty than our current supplier) but I would like more turn out for him - although we'd have to agree on restricted grazing areas. Argh - its driving me up the wall, what would anyone else do? Stay where I am as nothing is wrong? or go somewhere new on a bit of a whim?

Last edited:

Charlie31

Visit site
I would go for the 24/7 turnout and better hay. If your pony is coughing now then these improvements will be much better for his long term health and I'm sure he'll settle in quickly enough.

The new yard sounds nice and there's nothing in what you said that would put me off, apart from fear of the unknown. I can get bored of hacking the same routes too so understand that a change of scenery would be beneficial here. And you never know, you might get some new hacking buddies too!

Annagain